Posted by: Female Perspective | December 2, 2010

TOW: 10 Things I Learned

1. Value of a professional Twitter – Even though I am still learning the art of Twitter, I definitely learned that Twitter is a great way to network.  You can connect with professionals across the country and can learn from what other people are doing.  Also, most of the people on Twitter are more than willing to hear your feedback or to answer any questions that you may have.

2.  Navigating the blog world – Before this semester, I had never written a blog; I don’t think I even read one, but after this semester I am confident in my ability to maintain a blog.  I will admit that blogging is not my favorite thing and I probably won’t keep up with this blog, but I definitely learned things so that in case I am in a job that requires me to know how to use blogging I will be able to do my job well.

3.  Learn from the world around you – One of the greatest classes often is not in a classroom.  Everyday in class we talked about different things that were happening in the world and how it relates to our field of interest.  I think by scanning the days news headlines you can really learn from what people are doing in real life situations.

4.  Received new appreciation for Kodak – I did my final project on the company, Kodak.  Growing up in Rochester, all I really knew about Kodak was that my grandpa worked there and that they recently had to lay off a ton of people.  However, after doing my research I was able to learn more and I was suprised by a lot of things that I found.  It gave me a whole new appreciation for the company and even made me consider working for them.

5.  Importance of one on one connections – This semester we were required to do an interview with a public relations professional.  Though talking with her, I realized how important it is to have a one on one connection with people in the industry.  Even with all the social media be using today, that personal connection cannot be replaced and that is what will get you a job. 

6.  Discovered PRSA – Before this class, I had never heard of the PRSA which is suprising since I am a graduating senior and have taken my fair share of public relations courses.  The PRSA can be a valuable asset for those of graduating.  It can help us establish connections with people and even help me find a job.

7.  Difference between disaster and crisis – In class, we spoke with Kat Lovin who works for the Salvation Army and one of the things she talked about was understanding the difference between a crisis and a disaster.  It is important to understand the difference because each one is approached differently.  As a public relations professional, you are bound to encounter both multiple times in your career.

8.  Don’t underestimate podcasts – Although I can’t say that podcasts are my first choice for source of information, they can be useful.  If you find a podcast that you like, you can download it on your ipod and play it as you go throughout your day.  It is a good way to keep update with other professionals in your field and to broaden your horizons.

9.  Public relations is growing – Although public relations has been around since the Industrial Revolution, it is important to remember that it is still a growing industry.  With companies getting larger and the introduction of social media, public relations professionals are constantly having to adapt and change with the times.

10.  I want in – This semester as a whole has been a somewhat difficult one  for me.  I am graduating in December and after an amazing intership this summer, I have sort of been itching to get out into the real world.  Obviously I don’t regret my college education and I think it was so important in building my career, but I now feel like I want to get into the industry and discover what it means to work in public relations for myself.  I appreciate everything that Southeastern has taught me, but now I am ready for the next stage in my life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

