Posted by: Female Perspective | December 2, 2010

LeBron’s Nike Commercial: Genius or Arrogant?

This commercial has sparked a lot of conversation.  Many who felt that LeBron betrayed Cleveland when he decided to make the move to the Miami Heat feel that commercial is arrogant.  They think LeBron and Nike are poking fun at the emotional and physical reaction that the city of Cleveland had to his leaving.  They see the commercial as just another opportunity for LeBron to talk about himself.  However, I am here to say that the commercial just might be genius.  When I first saw the ad, my first thought was whatever marketing team created the spot had the right idea.  They took a current situation and made it into a creative ad.  The commercial isn’t saying, “I am LeBron James, I can do whatever I want”, it is saying “I am LeBron James, I have to do what is right for me.”  Instead of ignoring the elephant in the room, Nike turned around.  They use it to sell the idea that you have to do what is best for you and the people do that wear Nike shoes.  I can’t remember the last time I saw a commercial that used a true life situation so well to sell a point and therefore their product.

Leave a Reply

Categories

