Posted by: Female Perspective | October 2, 2010

“The Social Network”

This week the movie “The Social Network” premiered. The movie revolves around the creation, development and scandel that is Facebook. In my generation, Facebook has solidified its self as a cultural phenomenon. It is one of the most visited web-sites on the Internet.

The movie is getting rave reviews for its dark portrayl of Facebook.  Personally, I am excited to see this movie.  I think it will give PR students and my generation in general a better understanding of the web-site that has taken over our lives.  I would encourage everyone to go see this movie and learn from it.  I plan to go see it this weekend; let me know what you guys think of it!

Responses

  1. I have heard a lot about this movie, and I totally agree with you that we should all go and see it as it will give us a unique perspective on our much social media has taken over our lives. Facebook has surely become an addiction to so many young people, so much to the point that we have lost touch with how to communicate in person without awkwardness. I am thankful for a lot of the social networking outlets, because I am able to stay in touch with so many people that I otherwise wouldn’t be able to, but I also think that we have to be careful and not lose out on real life relationships.

  2. […] Jennifer Cicotta […]

  3. I just saw The Social Network last night. It was a great portrayal of Mark Zuckerberg’s struggles in creating Facebook. It definitely makes you think about our social networking monster, Facebook, differently. I enjoy connecting with all my friends online and keep up with them in ways that I would never do in person. I have hundreds of friends, or at least people I have been acquainted with at one point in my life, on Facebook so there’s no way I’d be able to keep up with them without Facebook.
    I am proud to say that I signed up with Facebook when you still needed a college email address! Now, everyone and their mother (literally!) has Facebook.

    I would recommend the movie to my friends but especially to PR students.

  4. […] The Social Network, Femaleperspective […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

